The Redeyed Reader: The Districts of the Hunger Games

Rebecca Woodburn

The Hunger Games takes place in Panem, a country divided into twelve districts. Each district produces its own signature product, which is sold to the Capitol government. The wealth of these districts decreases exponentially by number, with the Capitol and District 1 being the wealthiest. These different districts represent the dystopian government that is crucial to the plot of the book. Tributes from the highest districts have the best odds at winning, while the lowest and poorest districts always produce the weakest tributes.

[box style=”rounded”]The Hunger Games
Book Review
Movie Review
Character Profiles[/box]